Free Resources‎ > ‎

National Alert System

posted Jul 15, 2010, 1:41 PM by Web Master   [ updated Jul 15, 2010, 3:43 PM ]
In response to the need for citizens and agencies to understand the scope and severity of terror threats, the Department of Homeland Security developed a color-coded Homeland Security Advisory System to alert Americans of current terrorist threat conditions. The five levels of threat condition are based upon a number of factors including a review of the intelligence and assessment of current threat activity.

Schools can apply the Homeland Security Advisory System to prepare and respond to national threats and acts of terrorism. This free resource is a series of worksheets that identify the five color-coded levels of threat. The general recommendations from the Department of Homeland Security for Federal departments and agencies are presented. Each of these recommendations is accompanied by a list of specific actions to promote school safety during various levels of threats or acts of terrorism.

Schools can use the worksheets to tailor their existing safe school and crisis response plans to create a Homeland Security response for their school community.

This document is available as a free pdf download.
Web Master,
Jul 15, 2010, 1:42 PM